^^

Lunar Information

Sun

 

Waning Crescent Moon

Today's Sun image from NASA Goddard Space Flight Center   Waning Crescent, 24 days in its cycle
Rise: 6:57 am
Set: 6:57 pm
Max possible Daylight hrs today: 12:00
09:54 UTC February 26 2017 Eclipse Circular
Page updated:
9/25/2016 09:50 AM EDT
13:50 UTC 09/25/2016
Rise: 1:33 am
Set: 4:00 pm
27% Illuminated
19:45 UTC February 10 2017 Eclipse Half Shadow

First Quarter Moon Full Moon Last Quarter Moon New Moon
First Quarter Moon Full Moon Last Quarter Moon New Moon
11:50 UTC September 9 2016 19:06 UTC September 16 2016 09:57 UTC September 23 2016 00:12 UTC October 1 2016

Vernal Equinox
Start of Spring
Summer Solstice
Start of Summer
Autumn Equinox
Start of Fall
Winter Solstice
Start of Winter
Start of Spring First day of Summer First day of Fall First day of Winter
Sun, 20-Mar-2016 12:31am EDT
04:31 UTC March 20 2016
Mon, 20-Jun-2016 6:35pm EDT
22:35 UTC June 20 2016
Thu, 22-Sep-2016 10:22am EDT
14:22 UTC September 22 2016
Wed, 21-Dec-2016 5:45am EST
10:45 UTC December 21 2016

 

Earth Daylight & Darkness view
Earth Daylight & Darkness view *EXT*

Eileen Collins Observatory - Clear Sky Clock
Eileen Collins Observatory - Clear Sky Clock legend *EXT*

Satellite Predictions for Erin, New York *EXT*  Light Pollution Map *EXT*  Sky chart for Erin, New York *EXT*



Some Excellent magazines for Amateur Astronomy are Sky & Telescope *EXT* and Astronomy *EXT*

Astronomy Picture of the Day
MARS Picture of the Day *EXT*
EARTH Science Picture of the Day *EXT*

Deepsky Astronomy Software (DAS)

Tony Cecce's Twelve Month Tour of the Messier Catalog

 Jan *EXT*   Feb *EXT*   Mar *EXT*   Apr *EXT*   May *EXT*   Jun *EXT*   Jul *EXT*   Aug *EXT*   Sep *EXT*   Oct *EXT*   Nov *EXT*   Dec *EXT* 

Some photos I took: Current Telescope Setup below:
Moon Cresent.jpg (38739 bytes) Moon Cresent2.jpg (23411 bytes) Dcp_0474.jpg (73299 bytes) nextstar114gt.jpg (46273 bytes) My Hard Case Kodak DC4800
Information on the Celestron NexStar 114 GT telescope can be found at Celestron *EXT*

For those interested in Fine Tuning your Telescope check out, 'SuperCharge *EXT*'.
Highly recommend, as it did wonders for my Celestron NexStar 114 GT telescope even though I bought it used.

Some Astronomy related Yahoo! Groups I'm currently in:
Celestron • NexStar Discussion Group *EXT* ECAS • Elmira-Corning Astronomical Society *EXT* deepskysoftware • Deepsky Astronomy Software *EXT*

><

The image above shows 17 grayscale steps from black to white.
Your monitor should clearly show a difference in brightness between each step.
If not, adjust the brightness and contrast of your monitor until it does.